Teachers needed in British Columbia

Posted on Thursday, September 28, 2017

Elementary/Secondary Teacher Opportunities (Northern BC School Districts) 
Explore teaching in BC’s rugged North, a vast region characterized by rugged landscapes and pristine natural beauty. HelloBC.com poignantly describes BC’s North as a "land of unlimited adventure filled with jagged mountain peaks, roaring rivers, serene lakes, green valleys, rugged coastlines and ancient island archipelagos".
The twelve school districts operating in the North offer their employees flexible work schedules, favourable student-to-teacher ratios, a rural work setting, and the experience of working with diverse Indigenous communities.
BC’s North is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. It is a place where you can enjoy year-round outdoor recreation. In the summertime, the sun doesn’t set until an astounding 11 pm, so you can fish, trek, golf, or hike well into the evening. In the wintertime, this is the perfect place to cross-country ski, to explore by snowmobile, or to enjoy the most Canadian of pastimes: curling!
Though the region may be remote, housing prices in the North are the most affordable in the province, which means plenty of extra income to enjoy fun activities. 
Teacher Job Openings
If you are interested in exploring this region, northern BC school districts are currently in high need of on-call teachers. The following is a list of on-call and teaching opportunities.
• Teachers Teaching on Call, French Immersion Teachers, Coast Mountains School District (SD82) in Terrace www.makeafuture.ca/coast-mountains 
• Teachers Teaching on Call, Special Education Teacher, Central Coast School District (SD49) www.makeafuture.ca/central-coast
• Teachers Teaching on Call, Student Services Teacher, Fort Nelson School District, (SD81) www.makeafuture.ca/fort-nelson
• Teachers Teaching on Call, Special Education Teacher, Nechako Lakes School District, (SD91) in Vanderhoof, www.makeafuture.ca/nechako-lakes
• Primary, Secondary, French and Learning Assistance Teachers, Peace River North (SD60) in Fort St John, www.makeafuture.ca/peace-river-north
• Teacher Librarian/Learning Innovations Teacher, Environmental Education Teacher, Peace River South School District, (SD59) in Dawson Creek, www.makeafuture.ca/peace-river-south
• Secondary and Elementary Teachers and Teacher Counsellor, Prince Rupert School District (SD52), www.makeafuture.ca/prince-rupert
• Secondary and Elementary Teachers and Teachers Teaching on Call, Stikine School District (SD87) in Dease Lake. www.makeafuture.ca/stikine
• Learner Support Teacher, Nisga’a School District. www.makeafututure.ca/nisgaa
Salary and Benefits
Teachers typically receive a comprehensive benefits package including:
• medical, dental, and extended health plans;
• annual retention allowance up to $2300
• group life insurance benefits;
• teachers’ pension;
• employee and family assistance programs;
• and more.
Applicants must have or obtain membership in the BC Ministry of Education Teacher Regulation Branch and must meet the conditions of the BC Criminal Records Review Act.
Back to top