Professional development

AQ/ABQ

The Faculty of Education’s professional development programs, Additional Qualifications (AQ) and Additional Basic Qualifications (ABQ), aim to provide courses of the highest professional quality to qualified teachers. Each additional qualification course reflects the Ontario College of Teachers Standards of Practice for the teaching profession.

IMPORTANT: Our additional qualification (AQ) and additional basic qualifications (ABQ) programs are currently under review for the year 2017-2018. Consequently, the offer of AQ and ABQ courses is suspended this Fall 2017. Information about a revised program will be available during the Fall.

Find out more about our AQ/ABQ courses

Study LSQ, the French sign language of Quebec

Free training offered to Ontario teachers

* Program offered in French only

This training will consist of five (5) non-credit courses of 39 hours each. Students will receive a certificate attesting to their successful completion at the end of each course. LSQ courses (LSQ I, II, III, IV, and V) are intended to support those who teach hearing impaired children. They are designed as second-language courses and aim to teach the basics of LSQ to hearing persons.

These courses are divided into two components: LSQ as a language and the culture of the deaf community. Language training focuses on acquiring vocabulary and a functional understanding of LSQ grammar.

These LSQ courses use a thematic approach. For example, in LSQ I, students will learn how to describe themselves, others, their family, food, sports, work, and hobbies. They will learn how to ask for, and give, directions and information, and how to describe people and express their tastes.

As is the case with any form of second-language training, class time is insufficient to cover the thousands of regular words used in everyday life. Therefore, it is expected that as students progress, they will enrich their vocabulary and improve their ability to apply the language concepts covered in class by increasing their contacts with members of the deaf community.

Finally, please note that LSQ I is a pre-requisite to register for QA Enseignement aux élèves ayant une surdité-cécité and that LSQ I, II and III are pre-requisites for QA Enseignement aux élèves sourds ou malentendants.

For more information, please contact the Academic Secretariat at 613-562-5804 or the Coordinator, Professional Development Programs at 613-562-5800, ext. 4095.

Learn more about the LSQ course.

Undergraduate professional development

Future teachers can develop their professional skills by participating in various events organized by the Faculty, including the Career Fair, the Jean-Paul Dionne Symposium and the Teaching Choices Symposium.

Through its Career Services, the University offers a wide variety of support to students and graduates to help them get a job after they complete their degree: job interview workshops, career counselling, resume workshops and individual consultations.

Back to top

Perfectionnement professionnel

QA/QBA

Les qualifications additionnelles (QA) et les qualifications de base additionnelles (QBA) offertes par la Faculté permettent aux enseignants qualifiés de parfaire leurs compétences et d’ajouter à leur certificat de qualification et d’inscription de l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario (OEEO) d’autres qualifications reconnues par le ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario et l’OEEO. 

IMPORTANT: Nous révisons actuellement notre offre des cours de qualifications additionnelles (QA) et de qualifications de base additionnelles (QBA) pour l’année 2018. Par conséquent, l’offre de cours QA et QBA pour l’automne est suspendue. De plus amples détails seront disponibles au courant de cet automne.

En savoir plus sur les cours de QA/QBA

Venez étudier la Langue des Signes Québécoises (LSQ)

Formation offerte gratuitement aux enseignantes et aux enseignants de l’Ontario.

Cette formation comprend cinq (5) cours non crédités de 39 heures chacun. À la fin de chaque cours, les étudiants reçoivent un certificat attestant leur réussite. Les cours de LSQ (I, II, III, IV et V) se veulent un appui à l’intervention pédagogique auprès des enfants sourds. Ils sont conçus comme des cours de langue seconde et visent à permettre aux entendants l’apprentissage de base de la LSQ.

Les cours comprennent deux volets : la langue (LSQ) et la culture de la communauté sourde. L’apprentissage de la langue porte essentiellement sur deux acquisitions : le vocabulaire et une base fonctionnelle de la grammaire.

Chaque cours de LSQ a une approche thématique. À titre d’exemple, dans le cours de LSQ I, l’étudiant apprendra à parler de lui-même, de l’autre, de sa famille, de la nourriture, des sports, du travail et des loisirs. Il apprendra à demander et à donner des directions et des renseignements, à décrire des personnes et à exprimer ses goûts.

Comme dans tout enseignement d’une langue seconde, il est impossible de couvrir en classe les milliers de mots du vocabulaire usuel. On s’attend donc à ce qu’au fur et à mesure que l’étudiant progresse, il augmente ses contacts avec les personnes sourdes et enrichisse ainsi son vocabulaire tout en utilisant mieux les notions linguistiques apprises lors des cours.

Enfin, il est important de noter que le cours de LSQ I est un préalable pour s’inscrire au programme QA Enseignement aux élèves ayant une surdi-cécité et que les cours de LSQ I, II et III sont des préalables pour le programme QA Enseignement aux élèves sourds ou malentendants.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le secrétariat scolaire au 613-562-5804 ou le coordonnateur des qualifications additionnelles au 613-562-5800, poste 4095.

En savoir plus sur les cours de LSQ

Développement professionnel pour le premier cycle

Les futurs enseignants peuvent développer leurs compétences professionnelles en participant à divers événements organisés par la Faculté, notamment la Foire des carrières, le Symposium Jean-Paul Dionne et le Colloque professionnel.

Le Service des carrières de l’Université d’Ottawa offre également une foule de services pour aider les étudiants et les diplômés à trouver un emploi : counselling de carrière, ateliers et consultations individuelles, critiques de CV et de lettres de présentation, et simulations d’entrevue.

Haut de page