2020 Faculty of Education Excellence Awards Winners

Posted on Wednesday, December 2, 2020

Stephanie Chitpin, Marie-Jude Delatour, Claire Duchesne and Jennifer Rottmann

Stephanie Chitpin, Marie-Jude Delatour, Claire Duchesne and Jennifer Rottmann

Every year, the Faculty of Education proudly recognizes the outstanding achievements and dedication of its members. The event is a time-honored tradition and despite the unprecedented challenges of 2020, the Faculty presented the Award for Excellence in Research, the Support Staff Award for Excellence, the Award for Thesis Supervision, and the Part-Time Professor of the Year Award, during the virtual General Assembly held on December 2, 2020.  Although we missed our customary in-person gathering, the four winners received their trophies in true pandemic style – outdoors and socially distanced! We congratulate all of them for their exceptional contributions to the Faculty and to the University of Ottawa.


Dr. Stephanie Chitpin

The Award for Excellence in Research was created in 2003 to recognize a professor for exceptional contributions to research in education.

Stephanie Chitpin


Marie-Jude Delatour

The Support Staff Award of Excellence was established to recognize exceptional quality of service, to highlight creativity and initiative, and to commend efforts to enhance the image of the Faculty and the University of Ottawa.

Marie-Jude Delatour



Dr. Claire Duchesne

Thesis supervisors devote a lot of time and availability to ensure that their students are well-directed. In recognition of their work, the Faculty offers a thesis supervision award that recognizes the work of those who have distinguished themselves in the supervision of graduate students.

Claire Duchesne


Dr. Jennifer Rottmann

The Part-Time Professor of the Year Award is granted to a professor in recognition of their contribution to pedagogy, excellence in teaching and participation in university life.



Back to top