Newly Admitted Students

Congratulations! You have received your offer of admission, you can now prepare yourself to become one of our students. Here is what you need to do next.

Step 1: Accept your Offer

To reserve your place in our programs, you must formally accept your offer.

  • Log in to your uoZone, under Admission file > Download your Offer > Respond ‘Yes’ to your Offer. It is essential that you review the conditions outlined in your letter of admission and submit your final transcript and/or diploma by the date indicated in your offer. This is required to be able to enrol.
  • After you accept your offer, check that your personal information is correct, such as your current mailing address, your telephone number, your emergency contacts, etc. by accessing your uoZone account under Applications > Student Center > Names > Addresses.
Share the good news!

Once you have officially accepted the offer, share the news with your relatives by using the #UOttawaEdu hashtag or @uOttawaEducation.

Step 2: Understand your Program

To understand your program and course requirements is an essential step.

You will be able to enrol online through your uoZone, but first get to know your program. You are responsible to follow all the program requirements in order to graduate in a timely manner.

  • Find out more about your program in the University’s Catalogue, the official source of information on your graduate program and courses. It shows you the basic structure of your program, including the compulsory and optional courses needed to graduate.
  • Familiarize yourself with your course sequence.
  • You may also want to check your current academic requirements by accessing your uoZone account under Applications > My Academic Requirements > Click “Expand All”.

Admitted in a research program: Preliminary meeting

Before you begin your program of study, it is important to schedule a meeting with your supervisor to discuss your course selection, expectations, and research needs. Below are examples of general and specific issues to discuss during the preliminary meeting with your supervisor.


Connect with an advisor!

Contact a professor or a staff member to guide you with your course selection or any other question you may have regarding your program.

Step 3: Enrol in your Courses

Enrol online according to your course requirements.

You must enrol for all your courses online through uoZone.

Consult your course sequence before registration.

Fall term: Enrollment starts in June. You will be emailed the time and date when you can first enrol about two weeks before enrolment opens. It is important to enrol on time – regardless of where you are located in the world – to secure a spot in your favorite classes.

Winter term: Enrollment starts in June so you may select your Winter courses while selecting the ones for the Fall term. If you are admitted for the Winter term, you do not get an automatic email regarding enrollment so you should enrol as soon as you respond to your offer.

Spring/ Summer term: Enrollment starts in March and you will be emailed the time and date when you can first enrol about two weeks before enrolment opens.

ImportantInformation
  • To avoid possible enrollment holds on your file, you must meet the conditions stipulated in your admission offer before enrolling in your courses (examples are proof of degree, an official transcript, etc.).
  • Get information on important deadlines, course timetables, distance learning and selected topic courses, by reading this.
Step 4: Plan your Finances

Make sure you pay your tuition fees on time.

It is important to plan a budget in order to make sure that you can cover all the costs related to your university life. We encourage you to develop a financial plan that includes university costs and living costs.

  • Tuition varies according to your program. You must pay your tuition fees by the date indicated in the important academic dates and deadlines. You can view your statement of account through uoZone.
  • In order to plan a budget, you can consult this estimate of the costs you will have to assume.
Scholarships and Financial Aid Opportunities

You may also be eligible to apply for online scholarships offered by the University of Ottawa, which is strongly committed to recognizing students for demonstrated academic excellence, community and school involvement, and leadership. You can also apply for federal and provincial student awards and bursaries. Finally, if you apply to the Work Study Program, you will get a chance to gain valuable experience by working on campus part time.

More questions?

If you have more questions regarding financial aid, contact the Financial Aid Office and if you have concerns about your methods of payment, payment plans and statements of account, please contact the Finance Office.

Step 5: Orientation Session and other Resources

You will be invited by email to an orientation at the beginning of the session in September to help you familiarize yourself with the Faculty of Education and the resources available to students. Please consult the events calendar for more information.

Moreover, the University of Ottawa offers an array of resources for your personal and professional development, which you can discover here. Additionally, you may want to consult our Student Hub to get information on Academic Regulations or Assistantships.

Textbooks and course materials

Textbooks and course packs (a bound collection of photocopied texts) are available at the University’s bookstore or other locations near campus, for example Agora Bookstore, Librairie du Soleil or Rytec Printing. Professors will usually tell students on the first day of classes which books and other materials they require and where to buy them.

Step 6: International Student

This step is for International students only.

Unless you are a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, you need a valid study permit to attend the program.

Important
InformationReceiving the study permit can take several months, so we strongly recommend that you apply early. For all immigration questions we invite you to visit the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website (CIC).

As a newly admitted international student, make sure you take a look at the available tips to succeed in the International Office website.

Back to top

Étudiants nouvellement admis

Félicitations! Vous avez reçu une offre d’admission, préparez-vous à commencer votre programme. Voici ce que vous devez faire maintenant. Note: L'utilisation du genre masculin dans ce texte est adoptée afin de faciliter la lecture et n'a aucune intention discriminatoire.

Étape 1 : Accepter votre offre

Afin de réserver une place dans nos programmes, vous devez officiellement accepter votre offre.

  • Accédez votre uoZone, sous Dossier d’admission > Téléchargez votre Offre > Répondez ‘Oui’ à votre offre. Veuillez bien lire les conditions détaillées sur votre lettre d’admission et n’oubliez pas de soumettre vos relevés de notes finaux et votre preuve de diplôme par la date indiquée dans votre offre. Cette étape est essentielle afin de pouvoir vous inscrire.
  • Après l’acceptation de votre offre, vérifiez que vos informations personnelles sont à jour, telles que votre adresse, votre numéro de téléphone, vos contacts d’urgence, etc., en accédant votre compte uoZone sous Applications > Centre Étudiant > Noms > Adresses.
Partagez la bonne nouvelle!

Une fois votre offre officiellement acceptée, prenez le temps de partager cette nouvelle avec vos parents et amis en utilisant le hashtag #UOttawaEdu ou @uOttawaEducation.

Étape 2 : Comprendre votre programme

Comprendre vos exigences de cours et de programme est une étape essentielle.

Vous pourrez vous inscrire à vos cours en ligne à travers uoZone, mais d’abord assurez-vous de bien comprendre votre programme. Vous êtes responsable de suivre et compléter toutes les exigences à temps pour obtenir votre diplôme.

  • Veuillez consulter la source officielle sur les programmes et les cours dans le site universitaire du Catalogue. Vous y trouverez les renseignements importants sur la structure de chacun des programmes, incluant les cours obligatoires et optionnels requis pour l’obtention de votre diplôme.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec votre séquence de cours.
  • Vous pouvez aussi consulter vos exigences académiques en accédant votre compte uoZone sous Applications > Vos exigences réussite > Cliquez ‘Développer tout’.

Admis dans un programme de recherche : Rencontre préliminaire

Avant de commencer votre programme d’études, il est important de planifier une rencontre avec votre directeur de mémoire ou de thèse afin de discuter de votre choix de cours, des attentes et des besoins concernant votre recherche. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de questions générales et spécifiques à discuter lors de la rencontre préliminaire avec votre directeur.


Discutez avec un conseiller !

Contactez un professeur ou un membre de notre équipe qui pourra vous guider dans votre sélection de cours ou même répondre à n’importe quelle autre question concernant votre programme.

Étape 3 : Choisir vos cours

Inscrivez-vous en ligne en suivant vos exigences de cours.

Vous devez vous inscrire à vos cours en ligne à travers uoZone.

Consultez votre séquence de cours avant l'inscription.

Trimestre d'automne: L’inscription commence en juin. Vous recevrez un courriel vous indiquant la date et l’heure à laquelle vous pourrez vous inscrire environ deux semaines avant la date initiale d’inscription. Il est important de vous inscrire à l’heure et la date indiquée – quel que soit votre emplacement dans le monde – afin de réserver votre place dans vos cours favoris.

Trimestre d'hiver: L’inscription commence aussi en juin donc vous pourrez sélectionner vos cours pour l'hiver en même temps que ceux de l'automne. Si vous êtes admis à l'hiver, vous ne recevrez pas de courriel automatique donc il faut aller vous inscrire dès que vous acceptez votre offre.

Trimestre du printemps/été: L’inscription commence en mars et vous recevrez un courriel vous indiquant la date et l’heure à laquelle vous pourrez vous inscrire environ deux semaines avant la date initiale d’inscription.

Important
Information
  • Évitez des blocages d’inscription dans votre dossier en vous assurant de satisfaire aux conditions indiquées sur votre offre d’admission avant de vous inscrire (exemple de conditions, preuve officielle de diplôme, un relevé de notes officiel, etc.)
  • Récoltez de l’information sur les dates limites importantes, les horaires des cours, les cours offerts à distance et les thèmes choisis, en consultant ce lien.
Étape 4 : Planifier vos finances

Assurez-vous de payer vos frais de scolarité à temps.

Il est important de planifier un budget afin de couvrir tous les frais reliés à votre vie universitaire. Nous vous encourageons donc de développer un plan financier incluant à la fois vos frais universitaires et les coûts de la vie.

Bourses et opportunités d’aide financière

Vous serez aussi éligible de faire demande aux bourses en ligne offertes par l’Université d’Ottawa, qui est engagée à reconnaitre l’excellence académique et l’implication communautaire de ses étudiants. Vous pourrez aussi faire demande aux bourses gouvernementales et provinciales. Finalement si vous faites demande au programme de régime travail-étudesvous aurez l’opportunité d’obtenir de l’expérience en travaillant à temps partiel sur le campus.

Plus de questions?

Si vous avez des questions concernant l’aide financière, contactez le Bureau de l’aide financière et si vous avez des inquiétudes sur les méthodes de paiement et votre compte financier, veuillez contacter le Bureau des finances.

Étape 5 : Session d’orientation et autres ressources

Vous serez invité par courriel à une séance d’orientation au début du trimestre, en septembre, qui vous permettra de vous familiariser avec la Faculté d’éducation et les ressources disponibles à nos étudiants. Veuillez consulter le calendrier des évènements pour plus d’informations.

D'autre part, l’Université d’Ottawa offre un éventail de ressources pour votre développement personnel et professionnel que vous pouvez découvrir ici. De plus, vous pouvez consulter le carrefour étudiant pour avoir de l’information sur les règlements scolaires ou les assistanats.

Livres et matériels de cours

Les livres et matériels de cours sont disponibles à la libraire de l’Université ou à d’autres endroits près du campus, par exemple la librairie de l’Agora, la librairie du Soleil ou l’imprimerie Rytec. Les professeurs vous communiqueront aussi quels livres et autres matériels seront requis et comment les obtenir.

Étape 6 : Étudiant international

Cette étape concerne les étudiants internationaux seulement.

À moins que vous soyez résident permanent ou citoyen canadien, vous devrez vous procurer un permis d’études valide, afin de vous inscrire au programme.

Important 
InformationRecevoir son permis d'études peut prendre plusieurs mois, nous vous recommandons fortement de faire demande très tôt. Pour toutes questions sur votre statut d’immigration, nous vous invitons à consulter le site d’immigration et citoyenneté Canada (CIC).

Comme étudiant nouvellement admis, assurez-vous de consulter les astuces pour réussir dans le site du Bureau International.

Haut de page